Short answer: For price, market cap and volume history, Coinranking is the cheapest full-history option in this list. Its $49 Startup plan goes back to 2010 with 1 million requests a month. CoinMarketCap unlocks history from 2010 at $79 a month (billed yearly) for 450,000 credits, and CoinGecko unlocks its full range at $129. For tick-level trades and order books, you need a different kind of provider, such as Kaiko, Tardis.dev or CoinAPI.
Disclosure: This guide is published by Coinranking, and we list our own API first. The others follow in alphabetical order. All details come from each provider’s own pricing pages and docs, checked on October 27, 2026. Prices change, so check each page before you buy.
Historical data powers charts, backtests, tax tools, research and dashboards. But “history” means different things on different plans. Some APIs give 1 year on the cheap plans and lock the rest behind a big upgrade.
Three kinds of historical data
Aggregated prices
One price per coin, combined across many exchanges, plus market cap and volume. This is what most apps, charts and portfolio trackers need. Coinranking, CoinGecko, CoinMarketCap, CoinPaprika and CoinCap work this way.
Exchange-level data
Trades, quotes and order books from each exchange separately. Trading firms use this for backtests and market research. Kaiko, Tardis.dev and CoinAPI focus here.
On-chain data
Metrics from the blockchain itself, such as active addresses and exchange flows. Glassnode is the best-known source.
At a glance
| Provider | Type | History goes back to | Cheapest plan with full history |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coinranking | Aggregated prices | 2010 | $49/month (1M requests) |
| Binance public data | One exchange | 2017 for BTC/USDT | Free |
| CoinAPI | Exchange-level | Each exchange’s start | $79/month (1,000 credits a day) |
| CoinCap | Aggregated prices | Not stated | Not stated per plan |
| CoinDesk Data | Aggregated and exchange | 10+ years | Enterprise, on request |
| CoinGecko | Aggregated prices | Full range (hourly from 2018) | $129/month (500K credits) |
| CoinMarketCap | Aggregated prices | 2010 | $79/month billed yearly (450K credits) |
| CoinPaprika | Aggregated prices | Full history | $199/month (1M calls) |
| Glassnode | On-chain | Up to 15+ years | From $584/month, API extra |
| Kaiko | Exchange-level | 2010 | From $1,000/month |
| Tardis.dev | Exchange tick data | 2019 | From $450/month |
1. Coinranking
The Coinranking API covers more than 2 million coins. History includes price, market cap and trading volume.
- Free: 1 year of history and 10,000 requests a month
- Basic, $24: 5 years of history and 500,000 requests
- Startup, $49: full history back to 2010 and 1 million requests
- Growth, $99: adds OHLCV candles, with 2 million requests
- Trial: every paid plan has a 30-day free trial
- Attribution: you must show that the data comes from Coinranking
That makes full history about $49 per million requests. The same history costs about $175 per million credits on CoinMarketCap and $258 on CoinGecko.
Best for: apps, charts and dashboards that need long price history at a low price. See the Coinranking API plans.
2. Binance public data
Binance publishes its own market history for free. Its public data site offers zipped CSV files of candles and trades. The API returns candles from 1 second to 1 month.
- Price: free
- History: BTC/USDT daily files go back to August 2017
- Limit: up to 1,000 candles per API request
It only covers Binance’s own markets. It’s not an average across exchanges.
Best for: backtests on Binance pairs.
3. CoinAPI
CoinAPI focuses on exchange-level data from 400+ exchanges, by its own count. Its pricing page lists Startup at $79, Streamer at $249 and Pro at $599 a month.
- History: back to each exchange’s start, according to its blog
- Data: OHLCV from 1 second to 1 year, plus trades, quotes and order books
- Bulk files: a separate Flat Files product with CSV files over S3
- Free: $25 in credits for new accounts
Best for: trading teams that need exchange-level history.
4. CoinCap
CoinCap sells a simple price API. Its paid plans start at $30 a month, or $24 billed yearly, for 50,000 credits.
- Credits: larger responses cost more credits, so history calls cost more than simple price calls
- Candles: open, high, low and close, but no volume
The pricing page doesn’t say how much history each plan includes, so check before you buy.
Best for: small projects with low call volume.
5. CoinDesk Data
CoinDesk Data, formerly CryptoCompare, has a free Personal plan for non-commercial use. Its pricing page shows these history limits:
- Personal and Start-Up: 365 days of daily data
- Enterprise: “10+ Years”, plus trades, order books and bulk delivery
Start-Up and Enterprise prices are on request.
Best for: larger firms that want one data partner for prices and exchange data.
6. CoinGecko
CoinGecko’s API pricing ties history to the plan:
- Demo, free: 1 year
- Basic, $35: 2 years
- Analyst, $129: the full range, with hourly data from January 2018
Its OHLC endpoint returns open, high, low and close without volume. Volume history comes from a separate endpoint. Attribution is required on every plan.
Best for: projects that also need CoinGecko’s DEX token and pool data.
7. CoinMarketCap
CoinMarketCap’s API pricing gives 1 year of daily history on the free plan and 3 years on Builder.
- Startup, $79 billed yearly or $95 monthly: daily history and daily OHLCV from 2010, with 450,000 credits
- Intraday history: 1 month on Startup, 3 months on Growth, 12 months on Professional
Best for: teams that want daily OHLCV from a well-known brand.
8. CoinPaprika
CoinPaprika’s API plans unlock full daily history from the Pro plan at $199 a month, with 1 million calls.
- Free: 1 year of daily history
- Starter, $99: 5 years
- OHLCV depth: 3 months on Pro, 1 year on Business ($799), no limit on Ultimate ($1,499)
Best for: teams already using CoinPaprika for prices.
9. Glassnode
Glassnode is an on-chain data provider. Its pricing page lists Professional from $584 a month, billed yearly, with up to 15+ years of history. API access is an add-on with its own credits.
The $49 Advanced plan includes only a light API with 14 days of daily data.
Best for: research on on-chain metrics, such as supply and exchange flows.
10. Kaiko
Kaiko is an institutional data provider. It bought Amberdata in June 2026. Its data page lists trades and OHLCV since 2010, and order book snapshots since 2014.
- Price: from $1,000 a month for aggregated data, and from $1,500 for tick-level data
- Delivery: API, CSV, Snowflake, BigQuery and cloud storage
Best for: funds and institutions that need audited, exchange-level history.
11. Tardis.dev
Tardis.dev sells tick-by-tick exchange data: trades, order book updates, funding and liquidations. It does not sell OHLCV candles.
- Price: spot data from $450 a month (Academic) or $900 (Solo)
- History: from 2019, depending on plan and billing
- Free: the first day of each month is free to download
Best for: backtesting trading strategies on exact order book data.
How to choose
Decide what kind of history you need
Most apps need daily or hourly prices, not every trade. Aggregated price APIs cost far less than tick-data providers.
Check which plan unlocks full history
Many APIs advertise “data from 2010” but only on a higher plan. Look at the plan you will actually buy.
Check OHLCV and volume
If you draw candlestick charts, you need open, high, low, close and volume. Some candle endpoints leave out volume. Our guide to OHLC and candlestick data explains the fields.
Count your calls
History calls can be large. Credit-based APIs may charge more for them. Compare the price per million calls in our crypto API pricing comparison.
FAQ
Which API has the cheapest full crypto price history?
Among the aggregated price APIs here, Coinranking. Its $49 Startup plan includes history back to 2010 and 1 million requests a month.
Is there a free historical crypto data API?
Yes, with limits. Coinranking, CoinGecko, CoinMarketCap and CoinPaprika include 1 year of history on their free plans. Binance offers its own market history for free.
Which crypto API has the longest history?
Coinranking, CoinMarketCap and Kaiko all state history back to 2010. Glassnode states up to 15+ years for on-chain data.
Do I need tick data?
Only for detailed backtests and market research. For charts, apps and portfolio tools, daily or hourly prices are enough.
Which API is best if I’m switching from CoinGecko or CoinMarketCap?
See our guides to CoinGecko API alternatives and CoinMarketCap API alternatives.
Get history back to 2010 for $49
Start on the free plan, or try any paid Coinranking plan free for 30 days.
